Painting an MGB roadster

Recently the Big Mac Creative Centre in Paraparaumu asked me to be “artist in residence” during a visit by the local MG Club to their gallery. So I decided to paint an MGB!

The guests were very interested in my work process, popping back to my corner of the gallery from time to time to see how it was coming along.

Once the background, chrome and car outline were complete, I got the club members to vote on what colour I should paint it – the winner was British racing green.

And here’s the end result from the day. This was a very quick painting … about four hours all up. And quite small, only 12×10 inches. Overall, for such a quick work I was initially quite happy with it.

But I later decided the car wasn’t shiny enough, so I spent another hour or so adding reflections to the paintwork. Doesn’t she look much more splendid now!!

The finished painting is now for sale at the Big Mac Creative Centre, along with several other of my paintings.

2 thoughts on “Painting an MGB roadster

Leave a comment